Ultimate Sprintcar Championship

History of the USC

2015-16 SEASON 

The Ultimate Sprintcar Championship was designed to market the basic Sydney Speedway “Track Championship” in a more effective way to encourage fan engagement, and to lift the stakes for competing teams to "fight for a title that mattered.” Ultimate Sprintcar Pty Ltd was registered in February 2015 ready to be launched in the 2015-16 season, and after Sydney Speedway’s parent company acquired Charlton Speedway,  the history making first round of the USC was held at Toowoomba’s Hi-Tec Oils Speedway on September 19, 2015.

Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway also hosted rounds of the USC in the 2015-16 season.

The first season also offered a bonus USC Chase Championship, where a racer could qualify by gaining a podium place at any of the NSW, QLD or VIC rounds.

The USC also became the sponsor of the World Series Sprintcars 2015-16 “Speedweek” offering $10,000 to the Speedweek champion as they promoted the brand on Australian Speedway’s biggest stage. Gaining a podium position in a Speedweek round also qualified the driver for the Chase Championship. 

Warrnambool’s Jamie Veal was the USC Chase inaugural Champion at the end of the 2015-15 season winning $30,000 first prize.

Veal also won the USC VIC crown, while Robbie Farr claimed both the QLD and NSW crowns.


2016-17 SEASON 

In mid 2016 Made Too Go Pty Ltd purchased the management rights to Murray Bridge Speedway which hosted the South Australian leg of the USC with the first USC SA race held on October the 8th 2016, incorporating the Bill Wigzell Battle of the Bridge.

With the four tracks sometimes running USC rounds on the same night across the four states, the “Drop-a-Round rule was introduced to allow racers to drop their worst performing round from the points tally and to allow them to compete in multiple championships.

As a result, Robbie Farr was able to win both the NSW and QLD Championships as well as the Chase, while Luke Dillon claimed the inaugural USC SA title and Darren Mollenoyux Claimed the USA VIC title.


2017-18 SEASON 

In 2017-18, the USC has undergone a number of changes. Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway withdrew from the USC, and the Chase Championship has been abolished to allow the remaining three tracks to focus on building their respective USC Grand Finals. The “Drop-a-Round was also “dropped” as the three tracks were able to construct a calendar where no USC rounds clashed between the states, allowing teams to pursue multiple state USC Championships.



Contact Info

You can contact our office from Monday to Friday from 9:00 a.m - 4.00 pm