Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Racing For An Ultimate Local Legend

Defending USC Champion Jamie Veal will be searching for his first MMS win (Phil Michell Photo for MMS)
For the second consecutive event at the Murray Machining and Sheds Speedway some of the biggest names in Australian Sprintcar racing will feature as they race to honour a local legend as they contest the Ross Wright Sprintcar Memorial. Not only will the 410ci Sprintcars be in action but the night will also include two other classes that Ross competed in as the 360ci Sprintcars will also be on the program along with the V8 Dirt Modifieds, who will be racing for the South Australian Championship.

The 410ci Ross Wright Memorial will also double as the opening round of the Chase for the Ultimate Sprintcar Championship, a series that will take in races in Victoria, New South Wales and Queensland. The night will also see the inaugural USC SA Champion crowned so there is plenty to play for this Saturday night (March 11).

After winning the South Australian Championship two weeks ago, Robbie Farr will return to Murray Bridge as he seeks this third win of the season at the Murray Bridge venue. He will be joined by the Family Dumesny, as veteran Max Dumesny returns to Murray Bridge for the first time in over 5 years and he will be joined by two of his Sons, Matthew and Marcus. Marcus will be hoping to bounce back after riding out a huge crash in turn four at his last start.

Current Ultimate Sprintcar Championship Series holder Jamie Veal will also return to Murray Bridge following the annual World Series Sprintcars Western swing and after losing his WSS crown to James McFadden he will be hungry to get his “Chase” off to the best start possible. Despite his recent success across Australia the Warrnambool native is yet to win at Murray Bridge.

Adding to the Warrnambool flavour of the night will be Darren Mollenoyux who has been a regular competitor in the USC SA this season.

After winning the Scott Darley Classic at our sister track in Sydney in January Tasmanian Shaun Dobson booked his place in the Chase therefore he is eligible to win the Championship as too is Sydneysider Sam Walsh.

The final interstate nomination is that of Tasmanian Tim Hutchins, who was fast at his last Murray Bridge start so he will be another driver to keep an eye on.

The interstate entries will be joined by the best of the “South Aussie Posse” including Battle of the Bridge winner Luke Dillon, Matt Egel, Brad Keller, Ryan Jones, who finished second to Robbie Farr last meeting, Aidan Hall, Lisa Walker and the Caruso Brothers.

The 360ci Sprintcar field will be headed by defending race Champion and current South Australian Champion Daniel Evans as he takes on a small field that also includes Michael Lovegrove, who is coming off a big win at Mildura. Tyson Chambers, Michael Burford, Cody Atkins and Jack Gartner.

The V8 Dirt Modified State Championship, that is also a round of the Australia wide Five Star Dirt Series, has attracted drivers from right across Australia including current Champion Kevin Britten, Lee McKinnell, Steve Milthorpe, Daryl Hickson and Western Australian Peter Forbes.

Release by Phil Michell Motorsport Media for MMS

Contact Info

You can contact or visit us in our office from Monday to Friday from 8:00 a.m - 5.00 pm