Ultimate Sprintcar Championship



Robbie Farr has pocketed a hard fought $10,000 after a titanic battle with Sam Walsh to win the Chronicle Chase at Toowoomba’s Hi-Tec Oils Speedway.

Farr claimed the Ian Boettcher race Parts Quicktime award with a new track record of 10.71 and later lowered the record in his first heat. Meanwhile Walsh was flying under the radar and wound up on the front row alongside Farr for the 30 lap feature.

However, a crossed up Peter Lack in the mid pack of the first turn triggered a multi car pile up that retired Queensland USC top five combatant Andrew Scheuerle and surprise Top 8 qualifier Simon Jupe, forcing officials to call an Open Red.

Lack, Luke Oldfield, Allan Woods, and Kevin Titman were able to restart while Shaun Dobson retired with electrical issues after a second attempt to make the race.

After the restart, Walsh was patient before making a lap 13 pass on Farr, holding on to the lead for another 12 laps before the reigning USC QLD champ returned serve with a tit-for-tat fight for the lead while Lachie McHugh observed from third position.

Kevin Titman right rear tyre was unable to last another lap after the crash bar for the first lap incident pierced the rubber, bringing on the yellow lights, and setting the scene for an epic finish with only six laps remaining.

However Farr took full advantage and held off Walsh for the finish to claim the $10k prize and some very valuable USC QLD and Chase points.

The Late Model Queensland Title was one of the best races seen from the division in recent years, with Darren Kane locked in an intense war with Carter Armstrong until Armstrong spun out in lap 18 surrendering finally surrendering to Kane to claim the winand his third Quennsland Late Model Title over Robert Carrig and Nicker Girdlestone.

The 26 car field of ModLites was always going to produce a feisty battle where 22 of the racers were under the former lap record, but it was Dalby’s own Terry Leerentveld who would defend his Queensland title over impressive South Australian Graham Knuckey and a hard charging Sean Rose.

The Queensland Lightning Sprint State Title stayed in Toowoomba, with eventual third place getter Keith Blatch surrendering the coveted Q1 to Wayne Iacono with Lismore’s Kurt Wilson sandwiched between the two Toowoomba based veterans for the runner up spot.

The final event of the season is set for Good Friday, April 14, as Hi-Tec Oils Speedway hosts the first night of the ClayPerView Easter Triple Challenge featuring the Wingless Sprint Queensland Title, Modified Sedans, Street Stocks and a Demolition Derby.

Contact Info

You can contact or visit us in our office from Monday to Friday from 8:00 a.m - 5.00 pm