Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Thompson speeds to USC Round Three NSW main event win

James Thompson, Darren Kane, John Lodge and AJ McTaggart were big winners at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway last night scoring the #1 spot in their respective Ultimate Sprintcar, V8 Super Sedans, AMCA National and Lightning Sprint main events.

Thompson scored his second career VR victory whilst Kane added another to his long list, John Lodge Jr showed his transition from Street Stockers to AMCA’s was seamless and AJ McTaggart’s return to competition has been impressive.

Despite a stoppage plagued main event James Thompson was able to steer clear of low fuel issues and caution lights to take the #22 Global Speedway Tours entry to victory lane ahead of Grant Tunks in second place and Sam Walsh home third.

Robbie Farr led the event but tragically ran out of fuel in the #7 adding another ‘one that got away’ to his domination of the first USC QLD event at Toowoomba where he tangled with a lapped car crash whilst leading.

There were several personal best results in the A-Main including Mick Saller (5th) Kim Becker (6th) Blake Skipper (7th) Brendan Scorgie (9th) and Kaitlyn Anthony (13th).

The next round of the Ultimate Sprintcar Championship NSW will be held on Saturday night, November 11 and is the annual Sid Hopping Shootout that honours the man who built the now iconic Parramatta City Raceway / Valvoline Raceway in the late 1970’s.

Australian Champion Darren Kane perhaps showed a glimpse of things to come when the National title comes to Parramatta in early March by simply driving away from his rivals to win from NSW hard charger Lachlan Onley in second place and South Australia young gun Ryan Alexander third.

John Lodge Jr showed his considerable versatility by winning his first ever AMCA National appearance in Sydney over the always competitive Shane Cartwright in second place and opening round winner Terry Pankhurst third.

AJ McTaggart made a welcome return to the winner’s circle after some time away from it to lead home a personal best from Peter Styles in second place and Danny Stone continuing his consistency last season to finish third.

Ultimate Sprintcar Championship A-Main results:

1 James Thompson
2 Grant Tunks
3 Sam Walsh
4 Max Dumesny
5 Mick Saller
6 Kim Becker
7 Blake Skipper
8 Marcus Dumesny
9 Brendan Scorgie
10 Matt Dumesny
11 Daniel Sayre
12 Ben Atkinson
13 Kaitlyn Anthony

V8 Super Sedan A-Main results:

1 Darren Kane
2 Lachlan Onley
3 Ryan Alexander
4 Ian Brims
5 Corey Smith
6 Peter Nicola
7 Steve Latham
8 Sam Roza
9 Daryl Moon

AMCA National results:

1 John Lodge Jr
2 Shane Cartwright
3 Terry Pankhurst
4 Justin Hackett
5 Joe Batch
6 Spano Gutierrez
7 Troy Kennedy
8 Wayne Simpson
9 Lindsay Cornwell
10 Ken George

Lightning Sprints A-Main results:

1 AJ McTaggart
2 Pete Styles
3 Danny Stone
4 Brett Davies
5 Chris Davis
6 Dean Eden
7 Matt Reed
8 Justin Pirlo
9 Scott Moir
10 John Ferguson

Valvoline Raceway returns this coming Saturday night with a double A-Main attraction for Late Models, Speedcars, Legend Cars, Formula 500’s and Fender Benders.

Ends release…

Contact Info

You can contact or visit us in our office from Monday to Friday from 8:00 a.m - 5.00 pm