Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Jones Clean Sweeps Night 1 At MMS

Local hero Ryan Jones clean swept the opening night of the 60 for 60 Sprintcar event at the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway as he led from start to finish in the Preliminary A-Main to defeat Robbie Farr and Matt Egel. Jones was simply superb all night as he put in a clinical display as he set the fastest lap in his qualifying group before winning both of his heat races and leading every lap on his way to a dominant win in what also doubled as Round 5 of the Shadetec USC SA.

The main event was reduced to 20 laps due to the number of stoppages earlier in the night, especially in the opening round of heats when the red lights were on for several incidents.

Fourth position in the Preliminary feature went to Brad Keller, who shared the front row with Jones, while Steven Lines, Chace Karpenko, James McFadden, Steven Caruso, Aidan Hall and Glen Sutherland completed the top 10. The most important thing for these drivers is that they are now locked onto the 60 Lap A-Main on night 2 and they will now avoid the heat races on Sunday Night.

After running inside the top 10 for much of the race Daniel Pestka got pipped for the final transfer spot finishing in eleventh while Luke Dillon was another driver who missed the top 10 after racing into the main event via the B-Main.

James McFadden had a busy night having to make the show via the B-Main after rolling the Monte Motorsports #17 in the opening round of heats after contact with Brendan Quinn, with the crash severely damaging the catch fence.

After dropping a heat McFadden therefore started the B-Main from position 8 and he would go on to finish third before storming through the field with a spectacular top groove run.

Other drivers to strike issues in the heats were Luke Dillon, Victorian Jake Smith, Nick Rachwal and Brendan Guerin, who were all taking out in a start line crash in heat 2 while Keke Falland rolled after hitting the turn 4 wall in time trials.

Earlier the heat winners were Jones (2), Steven Caruso, Robbie Farr, Brad Keller, Matthew Dumesny, Jessie Attard and Aidan Hall. Marcus Dumesny, Jock Goodyer, James McFadden and Luke Dillon were the top 4 in the B-Main.

The 60 for 60 continues in Sunday night with a further three heats, two dashes, a B-Main and the historic Rural City of Murray Bridge 60 Lap Sprintcar Race.

Contact Info

You can contact or visit us in our office from Monday to Friday from 8:00 a.m - 5.00 pm