Ultimate Sprintcar Championship



An enormous crowd turned out to see Californian Brad Sweet win his third Valvoline Australian Sprintcar Grand Prix at Valvoline Raceway Parramatta tonight in one of the best feature races seen at the venue in some time.

The 2019 World of Outlaws champion was in stellar form wheeling the #USA7 American Tire & Racing Services Spike chassis to victory over a fast finishing Jamie Veal in second place and Marcus Dumesny third.

Sweet and early leader Sam Walsh engaged in a torrid battle for the lead for most of the 35-lap affair with the pair swapping slide jobs much to the delight of the huge crowd in attendance.

Walsh would eventually finish sixth but his speed and ability to duke it out with the world’s #1 driver impressed both Sweet himself and the fans in attendance.

“American fans might not know names like Sam Walsh and Marcus Dumesny yet but they will do,” Sweet conceded, “I have so much respect for the guys who race here week in and week out. I’m really looking forward to racing here for the next few nights of Speedweek.”
Carson Macedo made a late play for the top three but came up one spot short behind Dumesny.

Ben Atkinson was a solid fifth place with Walsh, Jordyn Brazier, Michael Stewart, Robbie Farr and Ian Madsen rounding out the top ten.

Michael Stewart came from deep in the field to finish a creditable eighth place ahead of Robbie Farr who came from the B-Main to finish in ninth.

2019 All Stars Circuit of Champions champion Aaron Reutzel was set to play a major part in the A-Main after looking seriously fast in qualifying and his heat only to roll over in turn three and four on the opening lap.

Reutzel’s teammate Mick Saller set a career best quick time in qualifying in the #56 KRGS Triple X and Reutzel set the quickest time in his group which got the team off to a great start on debut.

Heat wins went to Brad Sweet, Sam Walsh, Marcus Dumesny and Jamie Veal.

The C-Main transferees were Coby Elliot, Matt Geering, Jimmy Matchett and McKenna Haase.

The B-Main transferees were Jeremy Cross, Robbie Farr, Warren Ferguson and Andrew Wright.

Official A-Main results:

1. Brad Sweet
2. Jamie Veal
3. Marcus Dumesny
4. Carson Macedo
5. Ben Atkinson
6. Sam Walsh
7. Jordyn Brazier
8. Michael Stewart
9. Robbie Farr
10. Ian Madsen
11. Lynton Jeffrey
12. Grant Tunks
13. Jeremy Cross
14. Daniel Cassidy
15. Jessie Attard
16. Warren Ferguson
17. Michael Saller
18. Daniel Sayre
19. Ryan Jones
20. Andrew Wright DNF
21. Troy Little DNF
22. Danny Reidy DNF
23. Alex Orr DNF
24. Aaron Reutzel DNF

Texan Tyler Erb was a jubilant victor in the first round of the Ultimate Sydney Late Model Speedweek taking the honours from Ben Nicastri (in the throwback #3 colour scheme that tributes his Dad Ross’ NASCAR Late Model from the late nineteen eighties) in second and Victorian Cameron Pearson home in third.

Tasmanian supremo Callum Harper led early and cheap price tamoxifen looked to conquer his VR demons but Erb put a sweet outside move on him going into turn one and pulled away never to be headed in the HDD Racing Rocket chassis.

Harper wound up fourth ahead of Lachlan Onley in fifth, Michael Hickey sixth, Daniel Cassidy seventh, Nathan Disney eighth, Ed Borg ninth and Joel Carrig rounding out the top ten.

Heat wins went to Callum Harper, Lachlan Onley, Ben Nicastri and Robbie Farr.

A-Main Speedweek Round One Official results:

1. Tyler Erb
2. Ben Nicastri
3. Cameron Pearson
4. Callum Harper
5. Lachlan Onley
6. Michael Hickey
7. Daniel Cassidy
8. Nathan Disney
9. Ed Borg
10. Joel Carrig
11. Aaron Barnes
12. Barry Kelleher
13. Clayton Pyne DNF
14. John Lodge Jr DNF
15. Robbie Farr DNF

Shaun Davoodi drove a smooth and calculating race to lead home two leadfoot ladies and win the Street Stocker A-Main despite the best efforts of Sarah Bradley and Kiona Sunerton in second and third place respectively.

“Shake your booty” Davoodi held on to score a good win in a brilliant race to lead home Bradley, Sunerton, Max Cotton, Steve Walsh, Brayden Ford, Alan Hollier, Ray Tyler, Shannon Alexander and Sean Isherwood rounding out the top ten.

Heat wins went to Ben Cartwright, Kiona Sunerton, Sarah Bradley, Chris Campbell, Mark Eveleigh and Shannon Alexander.

Street Stocker A-Main results:

1. Shaun Davoodi
2. Sarah Bradley
3. Kiona Sunerton
4. Max Cotton
5. Steve Walsh
6. Brayden Ford
7. Alan Hollier
8. Ray Tyler
9. Shannon Alexander
10. Sean Isherwood
11. Anthony Attard
12. Matt Hope
13. Rhiannon Brotherstone

The next night of the Ultimate Sydney Speedweek is Saturday night, December 28 and features the USC Sprintcars Round 2, the first round of the Ultimate Sydney Speedcar Speedweek and the first night of the NSW Modified Sedan Championship.

Photo: Gary Reid Photography

Ends release…

Contact Info

You can contact or visit us in our office from Monday to Friday from 8:00 a.m - 5.00 pm